BCtA Forum 2020

    Business resilience and sustainable development have taken on new meaning, and new urgency, in the wake of COVID-19. On top of the dire health and human cost of the global pandemic, projections indicate that most countries around the world will be plunged into recession, with low-income markets at risk of longer-term damage. COVID-19 could push over 71 million people into extreme poverty in 2020, representing the first increase in global extreme poverty since 1998, effectively wiping out progress made since 2017.

    Inclusive businesses models – for-profit models that engage low-income communities in core business activities as employees, producers, suppliers, entrepreneurs and customers – demonstrate a unique suitability for COVID-19 response and recovery. Operating in challenging environments and designed from the outset to actively engage beneficiaries and leverage innovation while reducing poverty and inequality, inclusive businesses stood ready to pivot and address the needs of low-income stakeholders even in the most low-resource environments, providing access to healthcare, education, ICT and other critical services.

    As the world now seeks to simultaneously fight the ongoing pandemic and build back batter, inclusive business presents a valuable opportunity for economies and societies alike to rebuild sustainably and with newfound resilience. Inclusive business enables economic growth and poverty alleviation in a resource-neutral or positive way, especially in resource-taxing sectors like agriculture, where inclusive business models can equip the world’s several hundred million smallholder farmers to farm more efficiently and sustainably. Also, as inclusive business tackles poverty and women are disproportionately poorer, inclusive business holds great potential to continue advancing women’s economic empowerment.

    Inclusive business also generates resilience. Close engagement with stakeholders – a core tenant of inclusive business – helps organizations thrive in the face of hardship and enables business-model innovation through knowledge sharing and co-creation with communities, increasing the likelihood of companies responding to market opportunities early and successfully, and of low-income stakeholders benefiting from them.  Moreover, as private sector funds are stretched thin and inequalities exacerbated by COVID-19, private sector capital and inclusive innovation are more welcome and more critical than ever.

    BCtA’s 10th Annual Forum, “Reimagining Resilience through Inclusive Business Innovation,” seeks to inform new paths to resilience and inspire a renewed commitment to sustainable development through inclusive business. The event will tap into BCtA’s member network of inclusive business trailblazers to highlight real-world examples of business models that address both immediate COVID-related concerns and contribute to longer-term sustainable development and recovery. It will convene governments and multilateral organizations for strategic discussions on charting the new frontier of business and sustainable development, and uncover promising new alliances across diverse sectors to spur fresh, future-proof development solutions and to spark inclusive innovation.

    The event will be hosted on a virtual platform that will remain open all day in order to cover multiple time zones and allow people to log in and connect with other participants throughout the day.

    In addition to the live mainstage panels, lounge sessions will act as a space for informal interaction, out-of-the-box thinking and facilitated dialogue between businesses and inclusive business experts on an array of topics, from access to ICT to agriculture and food security. Forum participants can join these sessions for discussion and debate. See the lounge agenda for more details.

    Alejandro Pacheco
    Deputy Resident Representative, UNDP Colombia
    Alissar Chaker
    Deputy Resident Representative, UNDP Tunisia
    Aline Menden
    Co-Founder and Managing Director, Endeva
    Almut van Casteren
    Managing Director, eProd Solutions Ltd & Equator Kenya Ltd
    Amanda Epting
    Inclusive Business Manager, MIT D-Lab
    Andrea Gilman
    SVP, Global SME Segment Lead, Mastercard
    Andrea Pradilla
    Director, Latin America, Global Reporting Initiative
    Ashiraf Nsibambi Kyabainze
    CEO, At Hause Limited
    Badreddine Ouali
    CEO, VERMEG
    Arun Murugesh
    Regional Director, Saahas Zero Waste
    Camilo Gonzalez
    Public Affairs & Advocacy Manager, Sanofi Colombia
    Christian Jahn
    Executive Director, Inclusive Business Action Network
    Diana Carolina Quintero
    Co-founder, Bive
    Diana Gutierrez
    Manager, UNDP Global Programme on Business for Gender Equality
    Douja Gharbi
    Vice President of Entrepreneurship, CSR & Communication, Conect
    Dr. Nasser Alkahtani
    Executive Director, Arab Gulf Programme for Development (AGFUND)
    Dr. Tirumala Santra Mandal
    Senior Research & Communication Analyst, iKure
    Dysmus Kisilu
    CEO, Solar Freeze
    Elaine Tinsley
    Private Sector Specialist, World Bank
    Emmanuel Agha
    CEO, Innovectives Group
    Elvis Francis
    Director Gap Foundation (P.A.C.E.), Gap Inc.
    Emil Damholt
    Impact Manager, BLUETOWN
    Filipe Almeida
    President of Portugal Social Innovation
    Giovanni Zenteno
    Investment Manager, Seed Capital & Business Development, Dutch Good Growth Fund
    Greg Dajer
    CEO and Co-Founder, MTTS Co., Ltd
    Haoliang Xu
    Assistant Secretary-General, Director BPPS, UNDP
    Hans-Peter Teufers
    Director, International Programs, The UPS Foundation
    Intan Khatulistiwa
    VP of Business Strategy & Marketing, AwanTunai
    Ian Milimo
    Project Manager, Sustainable Health In Procurement Project, UNDP
    Jona Repishti
    Social Entrepreneurship Manager, MIT D-Lab
    Jace Rabe
    President, Tolaro Global Group
    Jason Teeters
    Program Manager, SecondMuse
    Kathy Mignano
    Operations Officer, IFC
    Karla Gallardo
    CEO, Viwala
    Jonathan Jackson
    Co-Founder & CEO, Dimagi
    Keren Pybus
    CEO and Co-Founder, Ethical Apparel Africa
    Kerstin Jonsson Cissé
    Head of Unit for Global Sustainable Economic Development, Sida
    Luciana Aguiar
    Head of Business Call to Action
    Lucky Dissanayake
    Founder, Biomass Group
    Marcos Athias Neto
    Director, Finance Sector Hub, UNDP
    Mario Gonzalez
    Shared Value and Social Innovation Manager, CEMEX
    Martha Falla
    Sustainability Director, Postobon
    Mashook Chowdhury
    Manager, Sustainability, DBL Group
    Mike Debelak
    Executive Director, Inclusive Business Sweden
    Maya Kobalia
    Head of the Environmental and Social (E&S), MFO Crystal
    Mohammed Almoghayer
    Senior Partnership Advisor, UNDP
    Muthithi Kinyanjui
    Business Development Manager, ACRE Africa
    Murat Birsin
    Institute Specialist, Pınar Institute
    Ndidi Nwuneli
    Co-Founder AACE Foods & Sahel Consulting
    Nicolette Louw
    Financial Inclusion Program Lead, Bopinc
    Olga Lucia Romero
    Director, Monitoring & Evaluation of Public Policies, National Planning Department Colombia
    Paulo Bellotti
    Founder and CEO of MOV Investimentos
    Pedro Cortez
    Impact Specialist, Business Call to Action
    Philli Smit
    Impact Manager, Tilt
    Pritha Dutt
    Director, Empower Pragati Vocational & Staffing Pvt Ltd
    Sahba Sobhani
    Director IICPSD, UNDP
    Sanjay Banka
    Executive Chairman, Banka BioLoo Limited
    Sana Bouhachem
    Assistant Fund Manager, United Gulf Financial Services - North Africa
    Sheila Casserly
    Outreach & Membership Lead, Business Call to Action
    Shelley Saxena
    CEO, Sevamob
    Sheryl Loke
    Director, Partnerships & Communications, Mountain Hazelnuts
    Steven Collet
    Ambassador for Business and Development, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands
    Sujatha Ramani
    CEO, Pollinate Group
    Suvankar Mishra
    CEO, Blooom International, AG
    Susan Olsen
    Unit Head, Private Sector Financial Institutions Division for South Asia, ADB
    Ted London
    Professor, Ross School of Business, University of Michigan
    Teresa Law
    Co-founder and CFO, Mountain Hazelnuts
    Ting Shih
    CEO & Founder, ClickMedix
    Todd Khozein
    Co-CEO, SecondMuse
    Ulrika Modeer
    Assistant Secretary General & Director BERA, UNDP
    Ümit Savcıgil
    Director, Pınar Institute
    Uta Boellhoff
    Deputy Director General, German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development
    Vidyut Perti
    Head of Strategy, Marketing & Partnerships, Shubham Housing Development Finance Co. Ltd
    Viviana Echeverri
    Director of Corporate Affairs, Comfandi
    Zak Syengo
    Head of Marketing, Rafiki Microfinance Bank
    Morning Sessions
    Afternoon Sessions
    Lounges
    • 03:45 New York | 09:45 Geneva | 15:45 Singapore
      07:45 GMT: Digitization + Financial Inclusion = Value Chain Resilience

      COVID-19 highlighted major gaps and vulnerabilities in our global value chains. This spurred unprecedented innovation and the adoption of digital and financial solutions to enable enterprises to survive, bounce back and increase their own, their partners' and consumers' resilience. In this interactive session led by Bopinc, multinationals and SMEs share their experiences, and explore pathways and opportunities to value chain resilience through digital and financial inclusion.

    • 06:00 New York | 12:00 Geneva | 18:00 Singapore
      10:00 GMT: What Do Impact Investors Really Want?

      During these difficult times, it is becoming harder and harder for businesses to secure the investments they need to survive and thrive. Both banks and investors have become more risk-averse during the COVID-19 crisis, while the need for patient capital is greater than ever. Impact investors and venture philanthropists can be a great source of capital for social enterprises, but what do they really want and what does a business need to do to become investment ready?

      This session, hosted by Inclusive Business Sweden, will answer these questions, drawing on the experience of the investment matchmaking activities delivered as part of the Innovations Against Poverty Challenge Fund an SNV-managed project delivered in partnership with Inclusive Business Sweden and Bopinc. We invite both businesses and investors to join, and to share findings and experiences during this interactive session. Our ambition is that this session better equips participants to become investment ready and secure the investment they need to scale.

    • 08:30 New York | 14:30 Geneva | 20:30 Singapore
      12:30 GMT: Rôle du Secteur Privé dans le Développement durable et inclusif en Tunisie (en français)

      Fournissant neuf emplois sur dix dans les pays en développement, le secteur privé joue un rôle important dans la réalisation des Objectis du Développement Durable (ODD). À l'échelle mondiale, seuls 25% des objectifs des entreprises sont alignés aux besoins sociétaux ou environnementaux et 35% des stratégies des entreprises sont alignées aux ODD.

      La pandémie du COVID-19 a créé de nouveaux défis, exigeant un effort accru pour atteindre ces objectifs, et a inspiré de nouvelles opportunités pour générer des modèles commerciaux transformateurs. Alors que les parties prenantes mettent de plus en plus les entreprises au défi de se conformer aux normes de développement durable, les critères de réussite commerciale évoluent pour inclure davantage de fonctionnalités axées sur la durabilité.

      Ces observations appellent à sensibiliser le secteur privé à la nécessité de promouvoir des initiatives commerciales inclusives et durables dans leurs pratiques afin de jouer un rôle plus actif pour assurer un développement durable et inclusif.

      À cette fin, le principal objectif de ce panel est de répondre aux questions suivantes : 

      1. Comment le secteur privé peut-il contribuer au développement durable? 

      2. Pourquoi les entreprises devraient-elles contribuer au développement durable à travers des initiatives commerciales inclusives en Tunisie? 

      3. Comment pouvons-nous défier et aider les entreprises à être plus inclusives et durables?

    • 10:00 New York | 16:00 Geneva | 22:00 Singapore
      14:00 GMT: Innovative COVID-19 Responses in Healthtech

      This session will focus on stories of resilience from businesses within the health sector. The role of the private sector in advancing a country’s healthcare system will be explained by UNDP Health. It will be followed by a discussion moderated by Endeva, showcasing real challenges and proven tactics from three businesses across the world that are creatively managing uncertainty and pursuing radical change. This themed lounge will also be the launch event for BCtA's health cohort  a community of practice aimed at sharing best practices and lessons learned in dealing with the COVID-19 pandemic. In addition to learning from these business leaders, this interactive session will allow audiences the opportunity to contribute to the discussion.

    • 11:15 New York | 17:15 Geneva | 23:15 Singapore
      15:15 GMT: Empowering Women through Inclusive Finance

      A space dedicated to explore opportunities for women entrepreneurs to access financial assets and services, leverage capital to grow their business ventures, open new market segments, develop new value propositions, and open new distribution channels. We will reflect on the barriers (such as accessing credit and the digital divide) and how to overcome them in order to grow women-owned businesses.

    • 13:00 New York | 19:00 Geneva | 01:00 Singapore
      17:00 GMT: Building for the Long-Term: Radical Resilience in Agriculture and Food Security

      In this session, we will focus on stories of resilience from businesses within the food and agriculture sectors. Led by MIT D-Lab, this themed lounge will showcase real challenges and proven tactics from three businesses in East Africa that are creatively managing uncertainty and pursuing radical change. In addition to learning from these business leaders, this interactive session will highlight a framework for resiliency and offer participants the opportunity to engage with and learn from one another.

    • 14:00 New York | 20:00 Geneva | 02:00 Singapore
      18:00 GMT: Building a Resilient Business: The Concrete Steps Businesses Should Take to Survive Crises

      The COVID-19 pandemic has shone a spotlight on weaknesses in the U.S. economy that have existed for decades. These weaknesses exist in both businesses and the system that is supposed to support them. SecondMuse Founder and Co-CEO Todd Khozein and Program Manager Jason Teeters will talk through lessons and steps businesses can take to remain resilient through crises like the COVID-19 pandemic and its associated lockdowns.

      SecondMuse will share its unique perspective of supporting entrepreneurs and the ecosystems around them, which has put the company and its program work on both sides of the entrepreneurial equation. Entrepreneurs and public and private leaders will walk away from the workshop with actionable skills  from raising capital to tapping into local resources  that will enable them stay in business and bounce back stronger than ever.

    • 15:00 New York | 21:00 Geneva | 03:00 Singapore
      19:00 GMT: Innovation and Resilience in the Time of COVID-19 (in Spanish)

      La adopción de medidas de prevención y mitigación de la pandemia causada por el Coronavirus ha generado unos retos sociales y económicos sin precedentes para los países. En Colombia, una de las consecuencias económicas inmediatas ha sido el efecto adverso para las empresas. Es por esto por lo que la iniciativa SDG Corporate Tracker, la cual tiene como objetivo la medición y el reporte de las contribuciones del sector empresarial a los Objetivos de Desarrollo Sostenible (ODS), se transformó rápidamente para recoger información relevante sobre el impacto que del COVID-19 en las empresas, con el fin de nutrir las discusiones de política y las estrategias que buscan aportar en el proceso de reactivación económica.

    Event Details
    • Start Date
      September 24, 2020 07:30
    • End Date
      September 24, 2020 22:00
    Sponsors