Register NOW
    BCtA 10th Annual Forum | 24 September
    About BCtA 10th Annual Forum
    Reimagining Resilience through Inclusive Business Innovation

    Reimagining Resilience through Inclusive Business Innovation seeks to inform new paths to resilience and inspire a renewed commitment to sustainable development through inclusive business. The event will tap into BCtA’s member network of inclusive business trailblazers to highlight real-world examples of business models that address both immediate COVID-related concerns and contribute to longer-term sustainable development and recovery. It will convene governments and multilateral organizations for strategic discussions on charting the new frontier of business and sustainable development and uncover promising new alliances across diverse sectors to spur fresh, future-proof development solutions and spark inclusive innovation.

    Forum Agenda
    All times are in GMT
    Morning Sessions
    Afternoon Sessions
    • 09:05 New York | 15:05 Geneva | 21:05 Singapore
      13:05 GMT: Afternoon Remarks

      Afternoon remarks by Haoliang Xu, Assistant Secretary-General and Director of BPPS, UNDP. 

    • 09:15 New York | 15:15 Geneva | 21:15 Singapore
      13:15 GMT: Afternoon Remarks by Ambassador Steven Collet: Building Back Better: Creating a Race to the Top

      Insights from Steven Collet, Ambassador of Business & Development at the Dutch MFA. 

    • 09:45 New York | 15:45 Geneva | 21:45 Singapore
      13:45 GMT: New Alliances for Inclusive Business Innovation: Connecting Governments and Companies to Create Agile New Solutions to Serve the BoP

      Governments and companies only stand to gain from working together to fill development gaps through inclusive innovation. Government-led innovation and policy support for pro-poor business allows inclusive businesses to build resilience, continuity and scale in reaching vulnerable populations, while companies, in turn, mitigate risk for governments by tapping into their tried-and-true models and wealth of experience delivering value at the base of the economic pyramid (BoP).

      This session will explore opportunities for governments and companies to join forces in promoting and replicating innovative business models that best serve low-income markets and highlight key ingredients for successful inclusive innovation alliances.

    • 12:00 New York | 18:00 Geneva | 00:00 Singapore
      16:00 GMT: Resilience for Small Business: Financial Mechanisms for SMEs during COVID-19

      SMEs create seven out every ten jobs, but most do not have the liquidity to stay afloat as the COVID-19 crisis continues unabated. Surveys compiled by the OECD estimate that, if confinement measures last seven months, more than 50% of SMEs would face a shortfall of cash. As part of the United Nations' response to the pandemic, UNDP is leading socio-economic recovery globally, providing strong support to small businesses through risk and insurance finance facilities and a dedicated platform for digital resources.

      This session will explore how small businesses can raise capital and COVID-proof their business with the support of public and private sector partners to ensure business continuity. It will highlight resources and best practices available to SMEs for accessing finance, networks and partnerships that can help them build resilience for the future.

    • 16:00 New York | 22:00 Geneva | 04:00 Singapore
      20:00 GMT: The Impact Management Journey

      At the start of 2019, 25 member companies joined Business Call to Action’s Impact Champions Programme to conduct in-depth impact measurement and management with an SDG lens, benefitting from the hands-on support of BCtA.

      In this short film, BCtA’s Impact Champions will describe their impact management process, delve into data collected from key stakeholders and explain how it informs their approach in creating positive impact in low-income communities.

      Click here for more information on the Impact Champions and speakers in the video

       

       

    Lounges
    • 03:45 New York | 09:45 Geneva | 15:45 Singapore
      07:45 GMT: Digitization + Financial Inclusion = Value Chain Resilience

      COVID-19 highlighted major gaps and vulnerabilities in our global value chains. This spurred unprecedented innovation and the adoption of digital and financial solutions to enable enterprises to survive, bounce back and increase their own, their partners' and consumers' resilience. In this interactive session led by Bopinc, multinationals and SMEs share their experiences, and explore pathways and opportunities to value chain resilience through digital and financial inclusion.

    • 06:00 New York | 12:00 Geneva | 18:00 Singapore
      10:00 GMT: What Do Impact Investors Really Want?

      During these difficult times, it is becoming harder and harder for businesses to secure the investments they need to survive and thrive. Both banks and investors have become more risk-averse during the COVID-19 crisis, while the need for patient capital is greater than ever. Impact investors and venture philanthropists can be a great source of capital for social enterprises, but what do they really want and what does a business need to do to become investment ready?

      This session, hosted by Inclusive Business Sweden, will answer these questions, drawing on the experience of the investment matchmaking activities delivered as part of the Innovations Against Poverty Challenge Fund an SNV-managed project delivered in partnership with Inclusive Business Sweden and Bopinc. We invite both businesses and investors to join, and to share findings and experiences during this interactive session. Our ambition is that this session better equips participants to become investment ready and secure the investment they need to scale.

    • 08:30 New York | 02:30 Geneva | 20:30 Singapore
      12:30 GMT: Role of the Private Sector in Sustainable & Inclusive Development in Tunisia (in French)

      Providing nine out of every ten jobs in developing countries, the private sector is expected to play a large role in achieving the SDGs. Globally, only 25% of companies’ goals are aligned with societal or environmental needs and 35% of companies’ strategies are aligned with the SDGs. The COVID-19 pandemic has created new challenges, requiring the need for greater effort to attain these goals, and has inspired new opportunities to generate transformative business models. As stakeholders are increasingly challenging companies to meet sustainable development standards, business success criteria are evolving to include more sustainability-oriented features. These observations call for sensitizing the private sector to the need to promote inclusive and sustainable business initiatives in their practices in order to play a more active role in ensuring sustainable and inclusive development. 

      For this purpose, the main objective of this panel is to address the following questions: How can the private sector contribute to sustainable development? Why should companies contribute to sustainable development through inclusive business initiatives in Tunisia? How can we challenge and support companies in being more inclusive and sustainable?

    • 10:00 New York | 16:00 Geneva | 22:00 Singapore
      14:00 GMT: Innovative COVID-19 Responses in Healthtech

      This session will focus on stories of resilience from businesses within the health sector. The role of the private sector in advancing a country’s healthcare system will be explained by UNDP Health. It will be followed by a discussion moderated by Endeva, showcasing real challenges and proven tactics from three businesses across the world that are creatively managing uncertainty and pursuing radical change. This themed lounge will also be the launch event for BCtA's health cohort  a community of practice aimed at sharing best practices and lessons learned in dealing with the COVID-19 pandemic. In addition to learning from these business leaders, this interactive session will allow audiences the opportunity to contribute to the discussion.

    • 11:15 New York | 17:15 Geneva | 23:15 Singapore
      15:15 GMT: Empowering Women through Inclusive Finance

      A live session with women-led companies on how gender inequality impacts their business with a deep dive on the barriers that hinder their access to finance and hurt business growth. Women entrepreneurs from across the world will come together to spur ideas and solutions that can overcome challenges and scale up inclusive business models.

    • 13:00 New York | 19:00 Geneva | 01:00 Singapore
      17:00 GMT: Building for the Long-Term: Radical Resilience in Agriculture and Food Security

      In this session, we will focus on stories of resilience from businesses within the food and agriculture sectors. Led by MIT D-Lab, this themed lounge will showcase real challenges and proven tactics from three businesses in East Africa that are creatively managing uncertainty and pursuing radical change. In addition to learning from these business leaders, this interactive session will highlight a framework for resiliency and offer participants the opportunity to engage with and learn from one another.

    • 14:00 New York | 19:00 Geneva | 02:00 Singapore
      18:00 GMT: Building a Resilient Business: The Concrete Steps Businesses Should Take to Survive Crises

      The COVID-19 pandemic has shone a spotlight on weaknesses in the U.S. economy that have existed for decades. These weaknesses exist in both businesses and the system that is supposed to support them. SecondMuse Founder and Co-CEO Todd Khozein and Program Manager Jason Teeters will talk through lessons and steps businesses can take to remain resilient through crises like the COVID-19 pandemic and its associated lockdowns.

      SecondMuse will share its unique perspective of supporting entrepreneurs and the ecosystems around them, which has put the company and its program work on both sides of the entrepreneurial equation. Entrepreneurs and public and private leaders will walk away from the workshop with actionable skills  from raising capital to tapping into local resources  that will enable them stay in business and bounce back stronger than ever.

    • 15:00 New York | 21:00 Geneva | 03:00 Singapore
      19:00 GMT: Innovation and Resilience in the Time of COVID-19 (in Spanish)

      La adopción de medidas de prevención y mitigación de la pandemia causada por el Coronavirus ha generado unos retos sociales y económicos sin precedentes para los países. En Colombia, una de las consecuencias económicas inmediatas ha sido el efecto adverso para las empresas. Es por esto por lo que la iniciativa SDG Corporate Tracker*, la cual tiene como objetivo la medición y el reporte de las contribuciones del sector empresarial a los Objetivos de Desarrollo Sostenible (ODS), se transformó rápidamente para recoger información relevante sobre el impacto que del COVID-19 en las empresas, con el fin de nutrir las discusiones de política y las estrategias que buscan aportar en el proceso de reactivación económica.

    Forum Speakers
    Learn more about our speakers by clicking on each profile for details.
    Deputy Resident Representative, UNDP Colombia
    Co-Founder and Managing Director, Endeva
    Managing Director, eProd Solutions Ltd & Equator Kenya Ltd
    Inclusive Business Manager, MIT D-Lab
    SVP, Global SME Segment Lead, Mastercard
    Director, Latin America, Global Reporting Initiative
    CEO, At Hause Limited
    Regional Director, Saahas Zero Waste
    Public Affairs & Advocacy Manager, Sanofi Colombia
    Executive Director, Inclusive Business Action Network
    Co-founder, Bive
    Manager, UNDP Global Programme on Business for Gender Equality
    Executive Director, AGFUND
    Senior Research & Communication Analyst, iKure
    CEO, Solar Freeze
    Private Sector Specialist, World Bank
    Director Gap Foundation (P.A.C.E.), Gap Inc.
    Impact Manager, BLUETOWN
    President of Portugal Social Innovation
    Investment Manager, Seed Capital & Business Development, Dutch Good Growth Fund
    CEO and Co-Founder, MTTS Co., Ltd
    Assistant Secretary-General, Director BPPS, UNDP
    VP of Business Strategy & Marketing, AwanTunai
    Project Manager, Sustainable Health In Procurement Project, UNDP
    President, Tolaro Global Group
    Social Entrepreneurship Manager, MIT D-Lab
    Co-Founder & CEO, Dimagi
    Operations Officer, IFC
    Head of Unit for Global Sustainable Economic Development, Sida
    Head of Business Call to Action
    Founder, Biomass Group
    Director, Finance Sector Hub, UNDP
    Sustainability Director, Postobon
    Manager, Sustainability, DBL Group
    Executive Director, Inclusive Business Sweden
    Senior Partnership Advisor, UNDP
    Institute Specialist, Pınar Institute
    Co-Founder AACE Foods & Sahel Consulting
    Financial Inclusion Program Lead, Bopinc
    Director, Monitoring & Evaluation of Public Policies, National Planning Department Colombia
    Founder and CEO of MOV Investimentos
    Impact Specialist, Business Call to Action
    Impact Manager, Tilt
    Director, Empower Pragati Vocational & Staffing Pvt Ltd
    Director IICPSD, UNDP
    Executive Chairman, Banka BioLoo Limited
    Outreach & Membership Lead, Business Call to Action
    CEO, Sevamob
    Director, Partnerships & Communications, Mountain Hazelnuts
    CEO, Pollinate Group
    CEO, Blooom International, AG
    Unit Head, Private Sector Financial Institutions Division for South Asia, ADB
    Professor, Ross School of Business, University of Michigan
    Co-founder and CFO, Mountain Hazelnuts
    CEO & Founder, ClickMedix
    Co-CEO, SecondMuse
    Assistant Secretary General & Director BERA, UNDP
    Director, Pınar Institute
    Head of Strategy, Marketing & Partnerships, Shubham Housing Development Finance Co. Ltd
    Head of Marketing, Rafiki Microfinance Bank
    Latest Posts

    Locusts and COVID-19: How weather data can help build resilient, sustainable food systems

    Locusts and COVID-19: How weather data can help build resilient, sustainable food systems Business Call to Action member company, aWhere, has been using their historical observed weather and forecast data to

    Inclusive business is a key solution in the post Covid-19 world

    Joining efforts to make inclusive business the ‘new normal’ can help build more resilient and equitable societies.​ By Sahba Sobhani, director, Istanbul International Centre for Private Sector Development; Luciana Aguiar,

    Solar lights, digital finance and acai berries: How three inclusive businesses are tackling poverty

    In resource-constrained communities, commercially viable business models are having success around the world improving livelihoods Pollinate Group is a social enterprise in India and Nepal which enables low income women

    How to create value through impact management in 5 steps

    By Gilberto Ribeiro, Partner and COO at Vox Capital Before talking about impact it is important to provide the context of the journey of an entrepreneur who seeks money from venture capital

    Media Gallery
    Explore images from our past annual forums
    Video Gallery
    Highlights and recaps from our past annual forums
    Partnering With
    Convening With
    Mailing List
    Join our mailing list to stay up to date with BCtA news and events